Hits and Misses: Pakistani Lawn 2018

Hey guys!

As my Pakistani followers know, it’s that time of the year again … lawn mania! Although I don’t live in Pakistan, I still spend a lot of my time lusting after all the beautiful lawn outfits that have been popping up on my social media.

This year, almost every major designer has stepped up their game, with most designers introducing “luxury” lawn collections. I know there’s a lot of debate happening around the luxury lawn collections as a lot of people think it’s just a tactic to raise the prices of the lawn which in some cases is very true.

I wanted to review what in my opinion are the best and the worst lawn collections that came out this year.

Disclaimer: these reviews are based on from what I’ve seen on social media and brand advertising.

Hits:

Zara Shahjahan

IMG_9623IMG_9624

Zara Shahjahan’s whole brand aesthetic is a breath of fresh air for me, and her lawn collection was no different. I loved the simplistic yet elegant designs of her collection.The color palette was beautiful and as usual, I loved the old world charm that comes with every piece of clothing at Zara Shahjahan. This lawn is at the top of my wishlist!

The one thing I didn’t understand about this lawn was why it had to be shot in Tuscany when I felt that the designs really didn’t have any connection to Tuscany or the Italian culture. The pictures also barely had any Tuscan influence in them so I wonder why the Zara Shahjahan team decided to shoot there.

Saira Rizwan x Ittehad

IMG_9625IMG_9626

A rising star and one of my personal favorite designers, Saira Rizwan did not fail to impress with her 2018 lawn collection. A collaboration with Ittehad, this luxury lawn collection actually showcased Sri Lanka’s beauty, unlike Zara Shahjahan’s shoot.

I loved the bold designs and color combinations used for this collection. It really stepped out of the box from conventional lawn designs and gave me something fresh to look at. This lawn is formal enough to wear to special events which is also very nice considering the price range. This is actually the only designer I bought lawn from (I got Amaari SR-11), which means I really fell in love with it!

Cross Stitch

IMG_9635IMG_9636

One of the main reasons I’m in love with Cross Stitch’s lawn is because of the message they’ve tried to convey through their shoot. It focused on the heritage and traditions found in the deserts of Pakistan. I absolutely loved this shoot because of the fact that they chose to focus on Pakistan and its beauty instead of going to another country and shooting for their collection there.

It also tried to dispel a lot of stereotypes that are made about Pakistan all the time. As an American citizen, I’m well aware of the ideas most people have about Pakistan. They think it’s a barbaric country filled with dangerous people who are bent on oppressing women. One of the reasons I focus so many blog posts on Pakistan is to help people become aware of what a beautiful country it really is.

I loved the fact that Cross Stitch gave a message to the people who try to encourage these stereotypes about Pakistani by directly addressing Homeland with a beautiful poem.

Dear West,

My “Homeland is not scary”

It is not grey and black,

It is not brown and dusty,

It is not empty and barren,

It is not monolingual.

My Homeland is where colors pop, where people laugh and smile

Where hundreds of languages are heard, and hundreds of more dialects are spoken.

Where the stringed instruments visualize and drums synchronize.

My homeland is my home

My homeland is my land

My homeland is not your “Homeland”

-Hashim Ali

Image

IMG_9628IMG_9629

The reason I loved this lawn is because Image totally changed the game by introducing “lawnkari”, a lawn collection featuring the use of chikankari (very beautiful hand embroidered fabric). Their color palette for their outfits was truly amazing. I just loved the simplicity of it and the pastel colors that were used.

Their lawn is a bit more expensive than other brands but I’m guessing it’s because they used chikankari in the suits. This is another brand on my wishlist! Their lawn is just so bright and beautiful.

Crimson x Saira Shakira

IMG_9621IMG_9622

This lawn is absolutely perfect for the modern woman. It’s very sleek and sophisticated as well as very stylish. I loved the Saira Shakira x Crimson collaboration, and I feel like these designs just scream powerful yet glamorous.

I also really love the bright color palette and bold combinations. It’s very striking yet not too busy, which if you know me, I hate busy designs!

Mahgul x Al Zohaib

IMG_9633IMG_9634

This is the third collaboration I’m talking about, and tbh I love the idea that designers are working together to produce these amazing lawn collections. I think it’s such a good idea and leads to better designing.

This is another luxury lawn at a slightly higher price range. I don’t really think they should have made this lawn on the expensive side because if I were to be spending that much money on a suit, I would be more likely to go to a bigger brand and get it for around the same price.

Nevertheless, I loved the overall simplicity and design of the collection. The color combinations were also very nice, but they were also focused on pastel colors which literally all the lawn collections are doing this year lol.

Asifa and Nabeel

IMG_9642IMG_9643

Asifa and Nabeel also came out with something very out of the box this year. I loved the designs in this collection. They are so bold yet beautiful!

They also used more unconventional prints and designs which I also loved after seeing a lot of repetitive collections from other brands. The prints were fun yet not too busy as well.

Epoque x Suffuse by Sana Yasir

IMG_9630IMG_9632

I’m starting to realize that my “hit” list is getting way too long lol, so this is going to be my last one! I got a little carried away but I can’t deal I love all these lawn collections 😀 .

Overall I loved the colors and styling of this lawn. The designs gave me a very graceful and elegant feel which I loved and it included a dash of fierce. I especially love the first purple design it’s so classy!

Misses

In my opinion, these brands are way overhyped and showed zero improvements from last years lawn.

Elan

IMG_9646
Same old designs every year. Please come out with something new

Faraz Manan

IMG_9647
For such a big brand this is a pretty lame design, Faraz Manan needs to step up his game

Sana Safinaz

IMG_9644
A lot of controversy over their photoshoot, and no good designs to show for it

Farah Talib Aziz

IMG_9661.jpg
Almost the same thing as last year

One of my biggest problems with big Pakistani bloggers is their refusal to critique anyone/ any brand just because they want to stay in those brand’s “good books” and continue getting freebies. When you don’t like something don’t praise it!

People listen to big bloggers so if you have a constructive criticism please make designers aware so they can make some changes. I literally see them gushing about every single lawn collection all the time and it’s so annoying, how can you possibly like them all lol.

It’s pretty funny that these four designers that I mentioned currently have the most popular lawn collections.

This post was incredibly long but I still hope you enjoyed!

Check out last years review here

Like what you see? follow me on Bloglovin’ 

30 Comments Add yours

  1. Iriowen says:

    They are all stylish and beautiful!♥️🌺♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness, all of these are genuinely absolutely BEAUTIFUL! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Absolutely love the campaign by Cross Stitch. This year Zara Shahjahan’s lawn collection is my favorite.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I agree! Thanks for stopping by 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow your content.❤
    Specially this homeland poem💕I’ll be glad if you take a look on my newly made blog and give it a follow.
    Ty xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by! I’ll definitely check it out

      Liked by 1 person

  5. That second image from Zara Shahjahan’s collection is gorgeous! I know that I’m very simple and stick to neutral colours, but there’s something about it that really stands out. I love the images after the poem as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m in love with that outfit too! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh the ones from Zara Shahjahan are beautiful! I think those are my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. PC says:

    Love all those design 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such amazing designs 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. These are ABSOLUTELY gorgeous!❤😀 Just love this style!💯😍 I wear bohemian and gypsy skirts which have all the different colors like this and the vintage materials. I will have to check out these looks!😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you liked them 😊I also love bohemian looks! thanks for stopping by!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just love the look and of course! 💖 I love your blog.💛💖

        Liked by 1 person

  10. charisma says:

    All these lawn collections are so gorgeous, so beautiful! Makes me wanna just take away one. Okay not one. But alllllll……Ha ha ha! 😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁
    Although the best part fo this post was tbe poem for your homeland. It’s not just people of the west. I live in India and I know how people here feel about your homeland. I take a very different perspective though. I can never hate the entire country for just a few people. The people probably were from your country this time but the few causing havoc may be from my own the next time. Even among my friends, the few Muslim friends I have, they’ll be teased as having hailed from Pakistan. My country will blame yours for the bombing but will take least steps to stop this pretty prevalent “rape culture”. And trust me, I got no grudge for your homeland. Infact I am proud to tell that I have a blogger best friend named Jannat from your homeland. At the end of the day all that matters is how we learn to accept and appreciate each others’ culture and traditions instead of cocking a snook at yours and mine differences.
    I hope I have been able to make myself clear. And I am definitely going to check out more of your blogposts just to know a little more about your traditions. ❤❤❤❤
    Once again I’ll say that I am really glad to meet you and have come across your blog.
    Love and hugs from India.
    Xxxx.
    💙💚💛💜💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much this is the sweetest comment ever! We should learn to accept each other because we are neighbors! I agree with you about accepting each others culture and traditional 😁 I’m so glad to meet you too!!😍😍😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. charisma says:

        And so am I. I really am. ☺☺☺☺

        Liked by 1 person

  11. charisma says:

    Btw just followed you on Instagram and just falling in love with your feed. 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  12. zahthinks says:

    I loved them all sooo much… Wish I could buy all of them😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right! Me too 😁
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. kelleysdiy says:

    So beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Anonymous says:

    Thank You for this. I am an Indian based in Abu Dhabi who is madly in love with Pakistani lawn outfits. I recently discovered Image lawn & am going I am going to buy 2 of their outfits

    Like

Leave a comment